Is 700 GMAT good enough !!!

Free advice from the world's top MBA consultants
This topic has expert replies
Junior | Next Rank: 30 Posts

Is 700 GMAT good enough !!!

by vineetmittal04 » Tue Aug 11, 2015 11:59 am
I took GMAT last year and scored 640 (Q49,V28).
I recently took GMAT for the second time and scored 700 (Q50,V34). I want to ask the experts on this forum whether this score is good enough to apply to top business schools in the world ?

As I am a recent graduate, so I am considering 'Masters in Management' course at London Business School and London School of Economics, MS in Management Studies at Kellogg School of Management, ISB's Early Entry Option and Master of Finance at MIT Sloan.

I have a good academic record and okay extra curricular activities.

Please give me your advice regarding my target programs and my GMAT score.

Am I aiming too high or do I have a chance ??

GMAT/MBA Expert

GMAT Instructor
Followed by:247 members

by ceilidh.erickson » Tue Aug 11, 2015 12:30 pm
The question of what's "good enough" is tricky to answer, because the GMAT is only one data point that schools evaluate about your candidacy. Your work history, GPA, and life story are also very necessary components. If your GPA is high, you've shown strong career leadership, and you have an interesting story, a 700 might well be enough. A 700 indicates strong analytical and critical thinking skills. If any of these other pieces are lacking, though, you might need the GMAT to tell a stronger story for you.

In general, I tell students to aim for a GMAT score at or above the school's average to be competitive. But you can aim higher or lower depending on how strong you think the rest of your application is.

I would recommend that you book a consultation with a consultant to discuss your specific case. Many companies offer a free consultation; I personally can strongly recommend mbamission.com for a free consultation.

Congratulations on the 700, and good luck!
Ceilidh Erickson