Probability Questions

This topic has expert replies
Junior | Next Rank: 30 Posts

Probability Questions

by vdm » Thu Aug 20, 2015 8:03 pm
Hey guys! I just started preparing for the GMAT (less than 2 weeks). I'm an engineer so I decided to brush up on my quant skills before taking the diagnostic. I realized that I'm very weak in probability and statistics. So I'm doing a bunch of basic probability problems and I got stuck with these two problems:

1. Marvin lives in Stormwind City and works as an engineer in the city of Ironforge. In the morning, he has 3 transportation options (teleport, ride a dragon, or walk) to work, and in the evening he has the same 3 choices for his trip home. If Marvin randomly chooses his method of travel in the morning and in the evening, what is the probability that he teleports at least once per day?

2. If you flip three fair coins, what is the probability that you'll get heads on the first two flips and tails on the last flip?

I don't have the answers for these so my guess is (5/9) for the 1st question and (1/8) for the 2nd question. Can someone help with this?

Thanks!

Legendary Member
Followed by:140 members
GMAT Score:800

by MartyMurray » Thu Aug 20, 2015 8:37 pm
1. Marvin lives in Stormwind City and works as an engineer in the city of Ironforge. In the morning, he has 3 transportation options (teleport, ride a dragon, or walk) to work, and in the evening he has the same 3 choices for his trip home. If Marvin randomly chooses his method of travel in the morning and in the evening, what is the probability that he teleports at least once per day.

If we were to actually calculate the answer to this one, we would have to calculate two probabilities, the probability that he teleports once and the probability that he teleports twice. So rather than do that, we can just calculate the probability of his not teleporting at all, and then subtract that from 100 percent to arrive at the probability that he teleports at least once.