expert advice required

This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts

expert advice required

by kevingmat04 » Thu Aug 20, 2015 9:29 am
Hello,

I quit my job 4 months back to prepare for the exam . I studied 6-8 hours every day for 2 months and finally got 610 today . I have 8 years of work experience and I need to look out for a new job now . I think my dream to get an MBA is shattered , on top of this I am unemployed . I am starting to panic . I know I made a wrong decision to quit as getting a new job doesn't seem to be as easy as I thought . I want to retake the gmat again, but I am unable to make correct decision .

Please tell me how to cope with this situation . I am starting to think I am in deep trouble ....

GMAT/MBA Expert

Elite Legendary Member
Followed by:511 members
GMAT Score:800

by [email protected] » Thu Aug 20, 2015 9:33 am
Hi kevingmat04,

To properly assess your overall situation, you'll have to provide some additional information. To start though, a 610 isn't a bad GMAT score - it probably would not be enough to get you into a Top10, but with a strong OVERALL profile you could potentially get accepted to a School in the Top10 to Top30 range.

As far as your overall plans are concerned:
1) What is your goal score?
2) When are you planning to apply to Business School?
3) Do you know which Schools you're interested in?

And as to your studies:
1) What materials did you use?
2) How were you scoring on your practice CATs (including your Quant and Verbal Scaled Scores)?

As an aside, you mentioned that you quit your job 4 months ago but then studied for 2 months. What were you doing during those other 2 months?

GMAT assassins aren't born, they're made,
Rich
Contact Rich at [email protected]

Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts

by kevingmat04 » Thu Aug 20, 2015 9:54 am
Thanks Rich .

As far as your overall plans are concerned:
1) What is your goal score? 680+
2) When are you planning to apply to Business School? Next year Intake