Need Advice: Forego New Job Offer to Apply This Year?

Share tips as you apply, write essays, interview...
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts
Hi Everyone,

So I currently work as an accountant / financial analyst at a tech startup and I was out of the blue offered in Transaction Advisory Services at an ibank (TAS =/= ibanking but you work closely with deal teams and clients). I was planning on applying to b-school this year (Booth, Wharton, Berkeley, plus others in that tier) and looking to get into ibanking after I graduate. My current company is very supportive of me applying this year to potentially start in 2016. The TAS company has already told me that if I wanted to apply next year they would be completely supportive and would write me a letter of rec with a great name attached to it. Regardless, my plan is to return to school. It is just a matter of when and there lies my dilemma. I have 5 years of work experience and I don't know if one more year in an industry closer to what I'm looking to do after I graduate is needed or I'm already a strong candidate to get in this year. Is it worth taking the risk of foregoing the new job and staying with my current company to apply this year? Money isn't a factor here as both jobs will be paying exactly the same and bonus / stock potentials are similar.

An abridged version of my background is below.

Background:

GMAT Score: 740 (98th percentile verbal, 67th percentile quant, 97th percentile overall)

Professional:
--4 years public accounting experience at mid-tier and Big 4. Took on leadership roles early and starting leading my own teams of 2-10 staff 1 year ahead of the rest of my cohort. Represented firm at recruiting events. Facilitated new hire trainings.
-- 1 year industry accounting / financial analyst experience. Promoted to a Sr. position in 6 months. Developed completely new financial analyses for the company that has provided new insight into the company's performance.
--CPA license