Planning to take GMAT for first time

This topic has expert replies
Senior | Next Rank: 100 Posts

Planning to take GMAT for first time

by rahulzlpr » Tue Jun 30, 2015 8:35 pm
I haven't taken GMAT before..so I read through these forums to get a feel of how to approach the exam.Also since I am a full time working professional enrolling in a course will not be viable for me as I will not be able to devote time for self study which I believe is paramount to one's success. Also I am kinda uncomfortable with the idea of attending a course as I like to learn by myself at my own pace. I am descent in Quant's though weak in areas such as geometry so I believe I can learn the concepts by myself following these forums whenever I need any assistance.also a lot of guys I came across in the forums were working professionals who took the self study and chalked out a solid plan to help them reach their goals. Most of these guys kept the gmat preps for the end before the actual exam so they could really guage their preparation and use these tests diligently.So just advise me if self study is the route I take how to succeed and also advise on the books I mentioned and how to work on them. I intend to take the GMAT next year in June so advise me if this would be the right time and suggest when to start my preparation accordingly.

If this time is ideal and when shall I kickstart my preparation for the same i.e. what should be time span?
After going through some of the comments in the forums I have figured out some of the following material that will aid me in getting a good score (700+ and around 750). These are as follows:
a) GMAT OG REVIEW 2016
b) Manhattan SC guide
c) Aristotle SC,CR,RC Grails
d) Manhattan advanced quant (please share your views on this)
e) For testing purpose using MGMATs and GMAT PREPs

Kindly let me know your views on this and also share your list of recommended study material to ace the test.

MBA Admissions Consultant
Followed by:3 members