Profile eval. help

Figure out where you wish to apply
This topic has expert replies
Junior | Next Rank: 30 Posts
Followed by:1 members

Profile eval. help

by abhirox » Wed Jul 01, 2015 4:08 am
Hi

My name is Abhinandan. I am looking to do a full-time MBA from one of these schools (Wharton/Booth/Tuck/MIT Sloan/NYU Stern/Haas). I feel my profile is weak and want help to enable me improve it.

So here is my background - I am 23.5 years old (Indian male). I am a Chartered Accountant (CA). I started my CA right out of school - you should know that there are three levels (Entrance, Intermediate and Final). Once I completed my entrance and intermediate levels, I am required to undergo 3 years of articleship (practical training). This is a pre-requisite for me to appear for the CA-final exam. I underwent my articleship with KPMG (Big 4 -Audit division). Though this was an articleship, from the end of my first year, I was leading audit teams (statutory audit) as an engagement in-charge.

In my 3rd year, I wrote my CA-Final exam and passed it in my first attempt. The overall pass percentage in country was 3.1%. I scored 6 marks lesser than the All India 50th rank candidate (who was a friend). So out of 30K people who appeared for the exam, I was among the 900 who passed the exam and was close to the 50th rank. (I am giving these details to inquire if the above matter to business schools or will they only look that I passed the CA final exam)

Post my CA I did my under graduation with an university named Indira Gandhi National Open University (IGNOU). Since CA does not require graduation and is more valuable than B-com, I started out directly without doing my graduation. IGNOU had a tie-up with the Institute of Chartered Accountants of India wherein if I gave a specific set of exams, I would be issued the Bachelor of Commerce degree. I obtained my B-com through this without going to college.