Practice GMAT 570: Q33; V38 - Study Plan to Get a 650 in a m

This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts
All,

I've been studying for a little under a month and took my first practice GMAT with MGMAT and scored a 570 with a 33 QUANT and 38 VERBAL. My goal is a 650 and I'm set to take the GMAT in a month. I have to get better with the timing and made some careless errors on some pretty simple Quant problems, but am hoping I can get an 80 point improvement in a month. Verbal: I do fairly well on Critical Reasoning (almost always 100% correct) and am pretty good with Sentence Correction, but there is room for improvement. Reading Comprehension: I think I take too many notes and that slows me up. Quant: Honestly, I think I just need to get the fundamentals down. I don't have a math background so I'm learning a lot of this for the first time since Junior High / High school.

I work full time as a lawyer and try to study at least two hours per day on the weekdays and 4 hours each day on Saturday and Sunday. I have the MGMAT materials and signed up for Magoosh.

Any overall advice on how to tackle the next month to see the 80 point improvement that I need?

Master | Next Rank: 500 Posts
Followed by:13 members

by Rich@EconomistGMAT » Tue Jun 30, 2015 8:40 am
Hi Joe22,

I'm curious to know more about a couple things:

1) Did you take a full-length, timed practice exam (including breaks)?
2) When do you plan on applying for business school?