Kellogg v Booth showdown - help please

Figure out where you wish to apply
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts

Kellogg v Booth showdown - help please

by omwtobschool » Mon Jun 29, 2015 11:11 am
Hi everyone,

New poster here - been lurking for a while. I'm a Class of 2010 from the University of Chicago and am thinking about applying for Kellogg MBA program. I am currently working as a strategy consultant in a boutique firm and am taking the GMAT soon in order to apply in the upcoming year. As an undergraduate, I studied Economics and took 5 classes at Booth (undergrad and graduate sections) so I am familiar with Booth's well-known rigor and focus on economic theory.

After meeting various Kellogg alums I am sold on the school, with its friendly atmosphere and emphasis on teamwork. In my experience Booth students do not lack those qualities but I wanted to hear other people's opinions. I intend to advance in my consulting career (Kellogg seems like the obvious winner if so) and possibly move into the healthcare or education space later on. B-school hopefully will help me figure that out. Booth is known for finance but has an extremely flexible curriculum, rigorous academics, and a higher ranking.

What other perks about Kellogg sell it over Booth, and vice versa?

Thank you in advance.

GMAT/MBA Expert

Master | Next Rank: 500 Posts
Followed by:11 members

by Alexbr@ClearAdmit » Mon Jun 29, 2015 1:02 pm
I would consider these two schools pretty comparable in terms of prestige and rankings (you noted Booth had a higher rank). I would imagine you will end up applying to both, then determine, once admitted, where to go. By that time, the application process will have helped you uncover some of the nuances.

Fit and specific course work and EC resources that suit your specific needs will become more important. For now, I would focus on getting as strong as a GMAT score as you can, and plan on developing both applications ? cheers, alex