640 Diagnostic to 740 GMAT! Target Test Prep for quant!

Find out how Beat The GMAT members tackled GMAT test prep with positive results. Get tips on GMAT test prep materials, online courses, study tips, and more.
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts
Followed by:1 members
I just took the GMAT on May 16th, and I scored a 740 (Q47, V45). Here's my GMAT story:

This was my first time taking the GMAT. I took an initial diagnostic test using the GMATPrep software in January and scored a 640. My verbal was strong, but I got a 36 on the quant section. I haven't taken a math class since high school, and I knew I needed to review a lot of content in a relatively short amount of time in order to get my score in the 700-range with a decent quant score.

I started studying independently in February with the Manhattan GMAT strategy guides to review the quant material. In addition, as a participant in the Forté Foundation's MBALaunch program, I watched two webinars a week that were GMAT modules focused on various quant and verbal topics. About a month into studying, I took another practice exam and got a 660. I scored a 42 on the quant. However, I was feeling that while I had covered some ground in learning quant content, I was jumping from one topic to another without a rhyme or reason. I started to feel stressed about the lack of time until my GMAT. It's my first year teaching at a demanding charter school and I generally work 70 hours per week, so I really needed to use my time wisely and study efficiently.