770(Q-51,V-44)- My GMAT Journey-Long post

Find out how Beat The GMAT members tackled GMAT test prep with positive results. Get tips on GMAT test prep materials, online courses, study tips, and more.
This topic has expert replies
Senior | Next Rank: 100 Posts
Followed by:2 members

770(Q-51,V-44)- My GMAT Journey-Long post

by ashok27 » Fri May 22, 2015 1:10 am
Hi all,
Feeling excited writing this post. Had always dreamt that one day I'll be writing it. I was expecting to do well on the GMAT but frankly didn't expect that I'd hit a high of what I was scoring on the mock tests.

I've been preparing for the GMAT for about 3 months. Honestly, I was targeting 750 and was pleasantly surprised by the results- a 770(Q-51,V-44)

Books & Test material used

1.The Official Guide
2. Aristotle SC Grail 3rd edition, ManhattanGMAT SC Guide 5th ed & Big Idiom Questionbank
3. Aristotle CR Grail & Ace the Bold face
4. Aristotle RC Grail
5. Manhattan GMAT Advanced Quant guide for theory and PS and DS Boosters for practice.
7. GMAT Quantitative Review 2nd Edition

Test Scores

After every test, I would thoroughly spend 3-4 hours analyzing the test. This incredibly helped me improve my performance

Diagnostic Test-GMATPREP1-Before I started my prep: 620

Manhattan CAT 1 : 680 (Q46, V36)
Manhattan CAT 2 : 690 (Q45, V38)
Manhattan CAT 3 : 710 (Q48, V39)
Manhattan CAT 4 : 680 (Q46, V37)
Manhattan CAT 5 : 720 (Q47, V41)
Manhattan CAT 6 : 730 (Q45, V45)
GMATPrep CAT 1 : 740 (Q50, V40)
GMATPrep CAT 2 : 760 (Q51, V42)

GMAT: 770 (Q51, V44)

General Strategy

The longest time spent-3 weeks on SC
I started with Sentence Correction and focused on it for the first 2 weeks. Worked for around 5-6 hours everyday to complete the SC Grail theory and reference questions in OG. Then took another week to finish the questions at the end of SC Grail. After that I moved on to the OG SC questions. Finished them in another one week.