Advice Needed: To Pursue or Not To Pursue my MBA

Share tips as you apply, write essays, interview...
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts
Really having a hard time figuring out if I should apply to B school. I am a female 34 year old Latina. I have been working in management for 10 years, run my own small business, and currently work in non-profit sector in PR & Social Media Marketing. I received my B.S. in Hospitality Management from Cal Poly Pomona and am now looking into applying to schools for Fall 2016. I am concerned about the following:

1. Undergrad GPA 2.8 (last two years 3.2)
2. My Practice GMAT Score (450 on my Diagnostic Kaplan CAT but studying to try and receive a 650)
3. Part-time vs. Full-Time (are they the same degree?)

I really want to take my experience in social media marketing to the next level and am look to work with a top tech or consulting firm. I do not feel that i can get there without an MBA.

Does anyone have any insight or suggestions?! Any feedback is would be much appreciated.

GMAT Score:750

by reverseflash » Tue May 26, 2015 6:53 pm
alxmarie wrote:Really having a hard time figuring out if I should apply to B school. I am a female 34 year old Latina. I have been working in management for 10 years, run my own small business, and currently work in non-profit sector in PR & Social Media Marketing. I received my B.S. in Hospitality Management from Cal Poly Pomona and am now looking into applying to schools for Fall 2016. I am concerned about the following:

1. Undergrad GPA 2.8 (last two years 3.2)
2. My Practice GMAT Score (450 on my Diagnostic Kaplan CAT but studying to try and receive a 650)
3. Part-time vs. Full-Time (are they the same degree?)

I really want to take my experience in social media marketing to the next level and am look to work with a top tech or consulting firm. I do not feel that i can get there without an MBA.