First attempt - 560. Advice for second attempt.

This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts

First attempt - 560. Advice for second attempt.

by ao86 » Thu May 14, 2015 1:31 pm
Dear all,

I sat the GMAT last week and received a 560 (Q41, V26), (IR 5, AWA 5.5). I am looking for advice on how to push forward for my second attempt at the test, which I plan to do at the end of August. Throughout these 3 months I can commit around 25 hours a week.

Books and programs purchased and used first time round:

- Manhattan Foundation Quant/Verbal (Used this to polish up on basics)
- Manhattan SC and RC (I have the 10 books but only used these two)
- Magoosh (Relied on this pretty much exclusively for Quant)
- OG13 (Answered all questions)
- 2015 Verbal and Quant Review (Only used for SC)
- Critical Reasoning Bible

My first round of studying clearly didn't work and my CAT scores (several Veritas and GMAT Prep 1 & 2) never reached over 600. When I look back, although I studied in an extremely consistent manner, I lacked a coherent and methodical structure in the way I studied. This is something I am looking to rectify second time round. I believe burying my head in reviewing the same material over and over in the hope my CAT scores would improve without getting to the core of my problems was one of the mistakes I made.