Career Change

Figure out where you wish to apply
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts

Career Change

by talharif » Tue May 12, 2015 3:22 am
Hi

I am intending to apply at B-Schools for 2016 enrolment and my primary objective to go for a B-School is career change. I have seven years of work experience in financial services with focus on treasury and risk management. I am looking in to moving to a tech firm, hence I am looking at schools near West Coast in US. Here is a brief summary:

Undergrad GPA: 3.17 out of 4
Work Exp: 7 years (more than 1 year in UAE. I have heard international exp is given weightage)
GMAT: Havent taken but targeting around 700
Teofl: 107

Which schools should I be targeting? Do I stand any chance for Stanford for Haas if I push my score above 720?

Outside US, I am considering INSEAD or Rotterdam School of Management.

Would apprecite your feedback.

Cheers!

Senior | Next Rank: 100 Posts
Followed by:2 members

by MBA Ivy » Tue May 12, 2015 5:30 pm
Hi, I answered you on your pm, but thought I would answer here as well so others could benefit. Yes, pushing your score above 700 (or, certainly 720) will put you in a whole new ballpark. With 720, you would be competitive for both Stanford and Haas, as well as USC, and UCLA Anderson, in terms of West Coast schools.

INSEAD is also a very good choice for international, as is LBS. Hope this helps!

[I'm a former Harvard admissions interviewer and Harvard grad and currently run the MBA admissions firm: www.MBAIvyLeague.com. Contact me for a free consultation today!]

Jillian

Senior | Next Rank: 100 Posts
Followed by:2 members

by MBA Ivy » Tue May 12, 2015 5:31 pm
Hi, I answered you on your pm, but thought I would answer here as well so others could benefit. Yes, pushing your score above 700 (or, certainly 720) will put you in a whole new ballpark. With 720, you would be competitive for both Stanford and Haas, as well as USC, and UCLA Anderson, in terms of West Coast schools.