HELP! Stuck at 580!

This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts

HELP! Stuck at 580!

by hummusoflima » Sun Apr 19, 2015 4:03 pm
Hello experts,

I am a non-native speaker. I have been studying for six months and have some problems with my progress so far. My CAT scores have been the following:

MGMAT CAT 1: 580 (Q40 V30)
MGMAT CAT 2: 640 (Q43 V34)
MGMAT CAT 3: 580 (Q40 V31)
MGMAT CAT 4: 590 (Q38 V34)
MGMAT CAT 5: 570 (Q39 V30)

I took classes in order to review the fundamentals, I had long sessions of practice OG exercises, I also retook all the CATs in order to know what are my weaknesses, but nothing change in my last score. I gave it around 3pm, quietly and very positive. My goal score is 680.

What do you think I am doing wrong? What do you think I should be doing in order to improve my score? I hoped to gave the real test at the end of April, but now it seems impossible. What do you suggest? Please help!

GMAT/MBA Expert

Elite Legendary Member
Followed by:511 members
GMAT Score:800

by [email protected] » Sun Apr 19, 2015 4:14 pm
Hi hummusoflima,

You mentioned that you RETOOK all of the CATs, so are these CAT scores your original CAT scores or the "retake" scores?

Since the end of April is less than 2 weeks away, you're not likely to hit your score goal during that time, so you'll have to push back your Test Date.

I have a few questions about your studies so far:

1) Have you taken any CATs besides the MGMAT CATs?
2) What practice materials have you used besides the OG and these CATs?
3) Do you normally take your CATs at 3pm?
4) Do you take the ENTIRE CAT (including the Essay and IR sections) each time?

5) When are you planning to apply to Business School?

From these CAT scores, it looks like your 'fundamentals' are pretty good, but that you're lacking a bit when it comes to strategies and knowing the "secrets" of the GMAT. All of that can be improved, but it's going to take some time and you'll likely need to invest in some new resources.