Need Some Help

This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts

Need Some Help

by ItsjustEC » Wed Mar 18, 2015 3:14 pm
Hey guys,

I just took the GMAT for the first time today (3/18/15) and got a relatively low score. 590 (Q39/V33). I studied for about 45 days and I used the Veritas Prep self study. Basically the way I studied is not working and I am open to any suggestions.

During the 45 days I studied for the exams, I watched all the Veritas prep videos and finished about 60-70% of the homework problems. A major area of weakness I know I need to address is sentence correction.

My target score is 680-700 and I have no deadline for my next try.

GMAT/MBA Expert

Elite Legendary Member
Followed by:511 members
GMAT Score:800

by [email protected] » Wed Mar 18, 2015 4:39 pm
Hi ItsjustEC,

Most Test Takers spend 3 months or more on their studies to hit their respective "peak" scores, so it might be that you just haven't put in enough time and work yet. That having been said, how does your Official Score compare with your practice CAT scores?

GMAT assassins aren't born, they're made,
Rich
Contact Rich at [email protected]

by ItsjustEC » Wed Mar 18, 2015 7:47 pm
My last two practice scores were:

3/1: 610 (Q41/V33)
3/11: 610 (Q44/V30)

GMAT/MBA Expert

Elite Legendary Member
Followed by:511 members
GMAT Score:800

by [email protected] » Wed Mar 18, 2015 9:42 pm
Hi ItsjustEC,

GMAC has publicly stated that a Test Taker's Official GMAT Score is within +-30 points of actual ability, so your 590 is right 'in line' with your last couple of practice CAT scores. Considering your score goal, and the fact that you had only spent 45 days studying, this is all the more evidence that you haven't put in enough study time yet.

My suggestion is that you continue to work with the resources that you have and plan to take 1 CAT/week. If you don't see any progress in the next couple of weeks, then we should discuss alternatives.