First Diagnostic at 640 (w/ a twist), 2 month plan workable?

This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts
Hi Team Gmat,

I decided to take the plunge this weekend and get in full GMAT prep mode, hoping to take the test in 2 months based on my work schedule. Briefly, my background is a 25 year old American who works professionally in communications.

To get a true baseline, I took the GMAT prep practice CAT this weekend before cracking open any study books (did study GMAT materiel for 2 weeks about a year ago). While I skipped the practice AWA, I did the rest of the sections consecutively in a test like environment.

Score: 640
Quant: 39, with 40 minutes left
Verbal: 38, with 30 minutes left
IR: 4

I'm not too worried about IR - I was completely unfamiliar with the format and a quick review of my errors makes think a familiarity with question structure will help alleviate the low score there.

My bigger questions:
- Does a 2 month time table sound reasonable?
- Are there strategies to make myself use more time? (rare question, I know)
- What materials should I be using to study? (Currently have a 2014 Kaplan GMAT PREMIER and a 13th EDITION GMAT REVIEW)

I'm planning to dedicate 2-3 hours on week days and 4-5 on Saturdays and Sundays
3 weeks Math
2 weeks Verbal
1 week review IR and AWA
2 weeks test practice and review of error log

Any other input would be helpful. I've tried to do as much reading on the GMAT test prep subject this weekend, but I realize everyone needs to approach the test a little bit differently.

Legendary Member
Followed by:140 members
GMAT Score:800

by MartyMurray » Mon Mar 09, 2015 5:53 am
While it's a little challenging to determine whether your time frame is realistic, given your particular challenges, many of which are related to your just going too fast to get the answers, it does seem that you could significantly increase your score in two months.