Interview of an IESE Student

Share tips as you apply, write essays, interview...
This topic has expert replies
Master | Next Rank: 500 Posts
Followed by:10 members

Interview of an IESE Student

by myEssayReview » Mon Jan 26, 2015 5:17 pm
Poonam, CEO and founder of myEssayReview, is publishing interviews of her successful students. This is the latest in the series. Here is a chat with Daniel Araujo, second year student at the Global EMBA program of IESE.

Poonam: Can you tell us a little about yourself? Where are you from? Where and what did you study as an undergrad? What do you do now?

Daniel: I am originally from Angola and for my undergraduate education I studied at the University of Pennsylvania in Philadelphia. I majored in Computer and Telecommunications Engineering and then pursued a Master's of Science in Telecommunications Engineering and Networking also at Penn.Right now I am the General Manager of an IT services company that is based out of Portugal.

Poonam: When did you start thinking about Global EMBA? Why now? What are your post EMBA career goals and long term goals?

Daniel: Doing an MBA was always a goal that I had set to myself after I finished my Master's Degree in Engineering. My initial plan was to enroll in a Business School 5 years after finishing my degree in Engineering. Unfortunately, or rather fortunately, when that 5th year arrived my career had really taken off. I had been promoted to a management position, and taking 2 years off to return to University was no longer an option.

I started thinking about the Global MBA approximately two years ago when I joined my current job. The possibility of working and studying full-time felt like the perfect option and I got to a point in my career where I felt that I really need to join a program that would hone my skills as a manager.Post EMBA, I intend to stay at my current job and consolidate and capitalize on all the knowledge that I have gained.