Starting my GMAT study, intro and questions

This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts

Starting my GMAT study, intro and questions

by Kiura » Fri Jan 16, 2015 7:51 am
Hello all,

I thought I would do a quick presentation and ask a couple of questions as I am preparing to dive into the world of GMAT preparation. No promises that I will keep this as a regular update thread as I am notoriously bad at these things.

For quick presentation I am a 28 years old French guy, currently working in a management position in Germany for an FMCG as a Swiss expat. Before that I graduated from one of the top French business school, so already have some business school background. Overall, I have two main reasons for wanting to pass the GMAT:
1. First one, I usually try to have something mildly challenging going on outside of work, I think it's healthy not too spend all of my thinking time on work related topic. My last endeavor was very interesting MOOC from Harvard on computer Science (CS50 - highly recommended), and I figured that doing GMAT for the next 6 months would be an interesting new challenge.
2. I am potentially interested in the notion of getting an MBA from a top ranking university, and I am even more interested in knowing if I could get accepted. The logical first step to this is finding out if I can get a high enough GMAT for it to even be an option. That leaves me some time to figure out if I really want to pursue it as an option.

Now for the question part!