Business School with Online Degree

Launched June 18, 2009
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts

Business School with Online Degree

by Venator86 » Wed Dec 24, 2014 6:49 pm
Hello -

I am currently studying for the GMAT (and will not rest until I have achieved a 720+ score, which seems likely given my practice exams).

My worry is that I am now 28, and graduated from a community college with my Associates degree at age 20 with a GPA of 2.75. I went back to school at an online university, Jones International University, and graduated when I was 27 with a GPA of 4.0, graduating Summa Cum Laude.

As I gain work experience, it is glaringly apparent that I will struggle to get into a top business school like Wharton or Columbia.

I am genuinely curious what the expert opinions are on this. Has it been done? Will I even get into a back-up school like Rutgers, or am I doomed because of my lazy childhood?

GMAT/MBA Expert

Master | Next Rank: 500 Posts
Followed by:11 members

by mbaMissionJenK » Fri Dec 26, 2014 6:03 pm
Hi there,

Hmm, not sure I'm completely following; do you have any/much full-time work experience? Generally b-schools would prefer that you have 3-5 years of full time work experience after undergrad...perhaps you can work a couple of years first and then apply? Still finish that GMAT prep and get your score as the scores are valid for 5 years? Another suggestion for further research is to contact some admissions offices at schools you are considering and get some advice too...but yes top 10-25 schools will likely be challenging no matter what... beyond that with several years of strong work experience things may look alright at that point...
Jennifer Kedrowski
MBA Admissions Consultant
www.mbamission.com
[email protected]

Register for a Free Consult from mbaMission: https://www.mbamission.com/consult.php

Visit the mbaMission Blog: www.mbamission.com/blog

Follow mbaMission on Twitter: https://twitter.com/mbaMission