Figure out where you wish to apply
This topic has expert replies
Master | Next Rank: 500 Posts
Followed by:8 members

Interview tips for Wharton

by interviewbay22 » Thu Dec 04, 2014 6:30 pm
Interview tips by a Wharton alumnus who worked in the admissions committee

A brief background about yourself.

I graduated from Wharton in 2008 and served on the Adcom during my second year. Prior to Wharton, I spent 4.5 years at Deloitte Consulting in New York and post business school moved to London to work with Goldman Sachs.

How has been your experience at Wharton? Has Wharton met all your career and personal aspirations? What do you like the most at Wharton?

My Wharton experience was amazing - I learnt a lot, met some amazing people, traveled a lot and at the same time, I also got the chance to get involved with a variety of organizations at Wharton and make an impact

While it is too early to say if Wharton has met all my career aspirations, having moved to London, I can already see how helpful it is to be a part of the Wharton family and it really does give you an instant network just about anywhere you go

What I like most of Wharton really was the diversity of the student background - and by this I don't only mean where people are from but rather the intellectual diversity we had. Everyone was internationally curious and very easy to get along with.

What is the importance of interviews in the overall selection process at Wharton? Is it a make or break after the interview? Or, does it form a parameter in the applicant's candidature?

A good interview won't get you in if everything else is just average but a bad interview can keep you out
The interview is another data point in the entire process - in addition, the interview at Wharton is blind so the interviewer has not read your application. This provides the adcom with a consistency check between your application and your interview