LBS MiM for Recent HYS JD Grad

Figure out where you wish to apply
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts

LBS MiM for Recent HYS JD Grad

by paperorplastic » Thu Nov 20, 2014 1:27 pm
Hi All,

I am a recent HYS JD grad, considering an MiM at LBS. Hoping to receive experienced opinions on the following questions:

1) After graduation, what level position will I enter into for banks/consulting firms/industry (i.e. will it be MBA-level positions or Masters)? Based upon conversations with individuals in the space, it seems that banks/consulting firms would likely hire at MBA-level, but curious to hear about industry management positions.

2) Is there any disadvantage to getting the MiM vs. an MBA for more long-term career progression considerations?

Thanks,

paperorplastic

Master | Next Rank: 500 Posts
Followed by:8 members

by interviewbay22 » Thu Nov 20, 2014 6:49 pm
Hello

MiM is more suited for fresh graduates or graduates with a work experience of less than a year. Is this the case with you?

As far as placements go, in LBS over 95% of the class gets placed within 3 months of matriculation. Judging by the vast difference in average and median salaries of placed MBA and MiM students, it is safe to say that MiM graduates are not placed in MBA-level positions which is quite obvious as they begin with little or no work experience.

Banks and consulting firms certainly hire MiM graduates. Almost all the top consulting and IB firms are present in the list of recruiters of MiM graduates from LBS. Although the position that MBA grads would be placed into will be more managerial in nature.

It is not a matter of advantage or disadvantage, rather that of suitability based on work experience and your requirements. You can either pursue MiM now and go for an EMBA down the line, or you could get some solid work experience and go for an MBA after 2-3 years.

Let me know what you think

www.interviewbay.com