Profile Evaluation Request for Peace Corps Volunteer

Figure out where you wish to apply
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts
I'm wondering if the top 10 is a possibility for me- I graduated with a 3.3 gpa from Emory and majored in Economics/Math. I got a 720 on the GMAT and worked 3 years doing business analytics in an operations/supply chain role at a top retailer with 1 promotion.

I'm planning on joining the Peace Corps to gain some international/volunteer experience and will most likely be teaching English in China. My reason for getting an MBA is that I want to make a move into consulting and would really welcome the possibility of working in Asia. What are my chances are the top schools like Kellogg, Wharton, Columbia, INSEAD?

Thanks in advance!

Master | Next Rank: 500 Posts
Followed by:8 members

by interviewbay22 » Wed Nov 19, 2014 5:13 am
Hello tomtaz517

Your profile looks decent. Your stats are good but they fall slightly short for the schools you have mentioned. Avg GMAT for Wharton is nearly 730 each year and the average GMAT at these schools averages at 3.5
These schools as of now are slightly ambitious. But a lot depends on your work experience, extracurricular activities and leadership as well. In the peace corps, try to gain as much leadership experience as you can as that will help you. I think you stand a decent stand at some of the top 10 -15 schools. As you want to enter consulting, Emory has the second highest conversion ration for converting students from a non-consulting background to consulting.

Try to gain valuable leadership experience while working in China while making fruitful contributions to the society. As a teacher, you can upgrade/overhaul the curriculum of the students, introduce changes, optimizations to the education process, organize various events, etc. Their performance will be a testimony of your skills. Make the most of your time there as such an experience will make your profile quite unique.