Current international student at IESE available for Q's!

Figure out where you wish to apply
This topic has expert replies
Junior | Next Rank: 30 Posts
Followed by:1 members
Hey guys,

Been a while since I last set my foot in the Beatthegmat, but following a lot of useful information gathered during the application process I figured I could give something back to the community.

This fall I started studies at IESE Business School and have started getting a good overview of the institution and could moreover provide first hand experience. Therefore, if anybody feels like asking me questions regarding this, feel free to reach out.

For your information, my background is the following:

- Scandinavian
- 30 years male
- Completed postgraduate studies in 2010
- 4 years work experience from financial journalism, 2 PE-funds and from a startup

Best regards,

Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts

by jdruiz85 » Thu Nov 06, 2014 12:02 pm
Hi MaximusMB,

In your experience, how important is to attend to the assessment day during the application process? I'm currently applying to IESE and I was interviewed last week. Now I have to wait until December 12 to get the final answer and I'm kinda getting anxious. I didn't go to an assessment day because I couldn't afford it at this moment.

Thanks in advance.

by MaximusMB » Wed Nov 12, 2014 5:53 am
Hi,

My first thought is that the event is an important tool for the school to assess the fit and social skills of the candidates (IESE is among the top schools which focuses mostly on this aspect), however, if you have a legitimate reason I see no reason that this should hurt your application, especially if you are from outside of Europe.

In general the admissions office is very human and understanding.

As a student it is hard to completely respond to this question, but that is at least my first take on it.

Did that give you any value?

Best regards,

by jdruiz85 » Tue Nov 18, 2014 11:47 am
Hi MaximusMB,