MBA program for 10+yrs experience

Figure out where you wish to apply
This topic has expert replies
Junior | Next Rank: 30 Posts

MBA program for 10+yrs experience

by BeattheVerbal » Fri Nov 14, 2014 5:56 am
Hi,

I have total of 10+ years of experience. Had taken GMAT in Nov.2013 with 620(Q49 V26). My verbal is at lower side. I am targeting schools mostly in India. Was planning to retake gnat this Nov. but I feel I need couple of months more. So, have postponed it till Dec. end. So, my application will be for 2016.

My profile is- B.E(Electronics & Telecomm) 65% Mumbai university. Currently working in IT Datacenter services as consultant. Have taken few initiatives at work place,resulting in financial savings. Received few awards as well. I do not have any extra curricular at school or college level.

Would like to know whether such high work ex will be a deterrent for program? And which schools I can target?

Thank you..

Master | Next Rank: 500 Posts
Followed by:8 members

by interviewbay22 » Sun Nov 16, 2014 1:47 pm
Hello BeatTheVerbal

I would suggest you to get your scores converted on a four point scale. Your GPA as of now does not look very impressive so you will need a score much better than 620 to make the cut. Are you targeting schools outside India as well? Try to aim for 720.

Work experience of over 10 years could be a deterrent especially if you are applying to schools in the US. If you have strong reasons for pursuing MBA at this stage then you do stand a chance at US Business Schools as well. It is advisable to apply to schools in Europe - SDA Bocconi, IMD, HEC Paris, IE as they tend to have a larger pool of older applicants.