Below Average Indian GPA- Optional Essay ?

Free advice from the world's top MBA consultants
This topic has expert replies
Senior | Next Rank: 100 Posts

Below Average Indian GPA- Optional Essay ?

by vincenm » Thu Oct 30, 2014 6:55 pm
Hi

Background:
I have a CGPA of 6.3/10 from NIT Warangal ,which is consistently in the top 10 National rankings, and I majored in Electronics Engineering.

The major has the toughest curriculum and grading standards among the majors in my college. If I had taken a simpler major my GPA would have been much higher.

GPA trajectory:
I started at 7.x range in freshmen year but once I started to study my major in 2nd year , my GPA crashed. This continued to my 3rd year. In final year I studied harder and raised the GPA up for the 2 semesters but not as high as my freshmen GPA.

Issues:
I chose my major without doing any research on the subject as I was just going after the money I will receive in my job once I graduate the college with that major. As I started to study the courses for the major I realized that I didn't like the subject at all. I lost interest and diverted my full attention to Extracurricular activities for the 2nd and 3rd year.

What changed for me :
But in final year I had some kind of epiphany and realized that I should have worked harder on my GPA as the recruitment season started in final year.

I doubled down on study , along with working on more extracurricular responsibilities as well, and was able t o raise my GPA . In the first semester I got place with a company but I wasn't satisfied. I practiced harder for the upcoming job opportunities.

In the last semester , I got placed in another company with a pay package that was double of that I got in my first job placement.

I was able to get GMAT score of 680 by balancing 10-12 hours of office time . ANd to not repeat the mistake of choosing the wrong major , I did extensive research on the potential schools and the ST and LT goals of my career .