Profile Evaluation Part Time MBA - GMAT 640

Free advice from the world's top MBA consultants
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts

Profile Evaluation Part Time MBA - GMAT 640

by palasjn » Thu Oct 30, 2014 9:59 am
Hi

I scored a 640 yesterday on my first attempt (Q44, V34), IR 6. I have a Bachelors in Engineering (Electronics & Communication) from India (Passed with Distinction, 73%) and MS in (Electrical & Computer Eng.) from Auburn University, USA (GPA: 3.63).

Work Experience:
I have 9 yrs of experience in one of the Top 10 Fortune 500 companies as an Engineer, Lead Engineer, Program Manager and Technology Leader in Medical Device industry. I managed cross functional teams on New Product Introduction projects and have experience working with Global cross functional teams.

Extra Curricular:
I have been actively involved in Affinity networks/volunteering during the past 4 years. I also lead a Affinity network chapter for our site and am on the leadership committee for one of the Affinity networks.

I would like to focus on Strategy/Marketing streams and am planning to apply to Kellogg/Booth. Appreciate your expert advise on my chances of getting into Kellogg/Booth Weekend MBA programs in 2015.

References:
My Current Manager, CTO for the company.

Master | Next Rank: 500 Posts
Followed by:5 members

by mcbMcK » Fri Nov 14, 2014 7:40 pm
Palas,
A few reflections on your profile:
  1. The transition your are seeking is not uncommon. In fact some people manage that even without an MBA. It will be critical though that you have the right sponsorship within the organization. An EMBA alone may not add enough weight to the profile to make the transition happen - unless already agreed with the employer
  2. The achievements part of your work is not clear. That said, the GMAT will be a deterrent for the schools you have in mind given the competition levels there. A retake, if feasible, is strongly recommended.
Hope this helps,