760 (Q50 V42 IR8) - I beat the GMAT

Find out how Beat The GMAT members tackled GMAT test prep with positive results. Get tips on GMAT test prep materials, online courses, study tips, and more.
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts

760 (Q50 V42 IR8) - I beat the GMAT

by asimsim2 » Mon Oct 27, 2014 7:09 am
Hi all,

After about two and a half month of preparation, finally I've finished my GMAT experience...
Just came back from the test center, after my first try. Final score: 760 (Q50, V42, IR8).
I wanted to share some tips because this forum and the community helped me so much...

Study Method:
"¢ I am a self study so I did it by myself. I was working while I studied so I had about 2-3 hours on weekdays and 6-7 hours a day on the weekends.
"¢ Started out with some CATs to see where I stand. Obviously as I am not a native English speaker Verbal was really tough and the quant was not so bad (I am an engineering student). So I decided I'll put my emphasis on the verbal section.
"¢ First 2 weeks - only going on concepts, with really little actual problem solving except for the examples in the books.
"¢ After 2 weeks I did a CAT whenever I had enough time for it (complete CAT, with IR and AWA). If I didn't have time for a full CAT I just solved questions from the OG, 10 at a time, by topic.
"¢ CATS - I believe in doing many many CATS. For me this was the most important thing. If you make a proper review after each CAT you learn a lot, and timing is not an issue, as you have an "inner timer" and you really feel when you need to let go of a question. All in all I did 19 CATs.
"¢ IR and AWA - no need to study for these. Solving enough CATs will make you ready.
"¢ SC was the hardest part for me. Another problem was the timing in the verbal. I got the SC improved through Aristotle SC and the timing by solving many RC passages (usually reading the passages took most of my time in the verbal), improving my speed.

Study Material: