Can i get into a MBA program with a LOW GPA?

Share tips as you apply, write essays, interview...
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts

Can i get into a MBA program with a LOW GPA?

by Hayley » Tue Jul 27, 2010 3:26 am
Hi all,

I really want to get into the USA MBA program in the 2nd tier grad schools or UCLA etc.
However, my college GPA is really low.
Here are my details:-

1) From one of the top Singapore college, GPA is 3.2/5
(basically didnt' do well for the hard classes)

2) Work experience for one year as an auditor

I am getting letters from the firm partner and manager.
I am studying for my GMAT and plan to get at least 700 for it.

Do you think i'm even qualified to apply or am i just wasting my time and money?
Are there some ways i can boost my application?

Please help !!
Thanks.

GMAT/MBA Expert

GMAT Instructor
Followed by:523 members
GMAT Score:770

by Anurag@Gurome » Wed Jul 28, 2010 2:46 pm
3.2/5 is certainly on the lower side. Generally, you can make up for your low GPA through a high GMAT score and an extraordinary career profile. Because you have only 1 year of work experience, the latter will be hard to show (unless you worked while you studied and did very well). My recommendation is to try to get as high a GMAT score as possible and play up your differentiated background as a Singaporian applicant. (Singapore is at a unique juncture in global economy - I can elaborate further if you need me to). Do you have any other accomplishments (extracurricular or otherwise) to add another dimension to your appplication?

I would not lose heart. Just make sure you get a high GMAT score and put together an outstanding application.

Hope that helps.
Anurag Mairal, Ph.D., MBA
GMAT Expert, Admissions and Career Guidance
Gurome, Inc.
1-800-566-4043 (USA)

Join Our Facebook Groups
GMAT with Gurome
https://www.facebook.com/groups/272466352793633/
Admissions with Gurome
https://www.facebook.com/groups/461459690536574/