How can I plan my GMAT study?

This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts

How can I plan my GMAT study?

by zara922 » Thu Sep 04, 2014 3:46 am
Hello everyone,

I really need good advice about how to plan for my GMAT study. It's already a year that I am preparing for the exam but I have prepared without any discipline and plan. Like I was studying hard one week then something was happening and I was stopping my studying for some time and forgeting everything I had learned. I have also mixed so many books together that now I am lost about which one to use. Like I have done most of the Manhatten Guides, Official Quantitative and Verbal Guides, Kaplan book, some of Veritas books. I have also downloaded 9 video lessons from Manhatten. I havn't done only Official Guide. Now I have only 2 months to take the exam and I need a good plan. I also don't have much time because now I am studying at university for my master's degree and working. I tried the free Manhatten exam and got the score 610 but I need to improve to get a score 700 or more. So how much time should I study and which books and resourses should I use to be ready for the GMAT at the biggening of September?

GMAT/MBA Expert

Elite Legendary Member
Followed by:511 members
GMAT Score:800

by [email protected] » Thu Sep 04, 2014 11:44 am
Hi zara922,

You're not the first person to "juggle" studying for the GMAT with work and a busy life, so while you'll have to do a lot of work and stay organized, you can certainly improve in 2 months time.

To start, I'd like to know a bit more about some of the things that you wrote:

1) You said that you had 2 months, but then you mention being ready at the beginning of September. Did you mean the beginning of NOVEMBER? Have you scheduled an Official Test Date yet (and if so, then what is it?)?

2) If the 2 months is so that you can make an admissions deadline, is it possible to extend your study time and go for a LATER admissions round?