Took GMAT for the first time. Got 460. Expert help needed.

Find out how Beat The GMAT members tackled GMAT test prep with positive results. Get tips on GMAT test prep materials, online courses, study tips, and more.
This topic has expert replies
Senior | Next Rank: 100 Posts
Hai,

I took GMAT exam on july 30th. Got only 460. AWA score is 4.5. Can I get admitted to any college with this score? I have two years of work experience.
I am completely lost. Books from where I prepared for GMAT are MGMAT guides 5th edition, OG-13, OG verbal and quant review, Power score critical reasoning bible. Can any one help me to reach my target which is above 680. I also followed Beat the gmat 60 day study guide. I also referred counting and theory on combinatorics from gmat prep now. I don't know what to do further. I don't know whether i need to take any coaching or not sure whether I am in focus.

Help of any sort will be appreciated.

Thanks
Divya

GMAT/MBA Expert

Elite Legendary Member
Followed by:511 members
GMAT Score:800

by [email protected] » Thu Sep 04, 2014 5:41 pm
Hi Divya,

First off, as low as you might be feeling from this result, there are some positives. First, you now know what the full GMAT experience "feels like", so you should be better prepared for it when you retest. Second, Business Schools don't care if you take the GMAT more than once, so doing so is not a big deal.

What was your Score Breakdown for this Test? And how do these scores compare to your individual practice CATs?

Since your goal score is over 200 points above this Official Score, chances are that you'll need a full study program to help you to achieve your goals. That could be an instructor-led Course or a Guided Self-Study Program, but self-studying from just books clearly did not have the intended effect, so some new products are required.