building a profile

Share tips as you apply, write essays, interview...
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts

building a profile

by rishu23 » Fri Jul 25, 2014 4:12 pm
Hello everybody,

I am currently a final year student at Indian Institute of Technology (IIT), Kharagpur. I am aspiring to do MBA later in my career, let's say 4 years from now. I have a GPA of 3.36 now but still have 2 semesters left. After going through numerous threads and forums, I am disappointed to know that to enter top B-schools, one requires a GPA of around 3.6. What more worries me is that my GPA has been monotonically decreasing. (I had started my freshmen with a 3.6). Please suggest me strategies (a long term plan) so that I can still make it to the top schools, if at all possible. Clearly I haven't given my GMAT, but I think I can manage a good score. Besides, I've done volunteer works, community service etc. throughout my college years, been involved in sport teams in schools (but not represented the college at National levels), scored about 3.88 in national exams before entering college, and have internship experiences in top companies such as Siemens. Kindly suggest what should be my approach from now on.

Senior | Next Rank: 100 Posts
Followed by:2 members

by TarunaSaini » Sat Aug 16, 2014 12:30 am
Hi,

Try to emphasize on the unique skills, differentiating factors, any out of the box approach you adopted.
Put your best foot forward and concentrate on your strengths and create you story around it.
Make sure that your GPA, extracurriculars, work experience and profile are strong.
Overall profile is really important. Hopefully all these factors will help to crate a strong application.

Good Luck!!

Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts

by PathToMBA » Sat Sep 06, 2014 1:55 am
Hi rishu23,