Confused about my current gmat preparation.

This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts
I have been preparing for gmat from last 2 months. I was quite satisfied with my preparation with good score in gmat prep tests.

prep 1 - 710 (Q50 V35)
prep2 - 720 (Q50 V38)
prep 3- 730 (Q50 V39)

today I appeared for gmat prep 4 but got 650 (Q49, V31). i am completely devastated. I don't know what went wrong, as today I was more calm and mentally prepared compared to previous mocks.

After analysing all my mocks I found that my performance in SC is not up to the mark. Every time i am making more mistakes in SC compared to CR and RC. In today's mock there were 7 incorrect SC compared to 3 CR and 4 RC.

My target score is 700+. Although I still believe that i can cross 700, but due to today's performance I am in dilemma.

Should i delay my exam, if not than how to go about it. How to improve SC, I have completed MGMAT SC 3 times, but i am not able to apply all the rules during mocks. While solving OG13 and VR2 my accuracy in SC was around 80%.

I need some valuable suggestion.

GMAT/MBA Expert

Elite Legendary Member
Followed by:511 members
GMAT Score:800

by [email protected] » Wed Jul 23, 2014 11:48 am
Hi hellboy97,

One "off" practice CAT score isn't statistically significant, but it's important for you to do a full question-by-question review of that CAT to figure out what went wrong. In that Verbal Section, how many questions did you get wrong because of a silly mistake? How many questions did you "narrow it down to 2 and then 'guess wrong'?" These are the errors that you need to fix.