Wasting time and energy - no improvement

This topic has expert replies
Junior | Next Rank: 30 Posts

Wasting time and energy - no improvement

by aces021 » Wed Jul 16, 2014 8:53 pm
I studied for about 5 months, racking in about 350 study hours (excluding 27 hours of classes, + exams, + 6 hours of a private tutor.). My scores have stayed the same - if not worse. 1st GMAT score 460 (taken 4/8), 2nd GMAT score 360 (taken 5/15 - I did so bad because I put a lot of pressure on myself - studied the night and day of the exam trying to learn new material... lesson learned), CAT scores taken between 12/20 and 6/7) CAT 1 score 450, CAT 2 570, CAT 3 510, CAT 4 460, CAT 5 460, CAT 6 520. My verbal has always fluctuated the most - from 19 to 31 (SC is very new to me - I have started concentrating on it), quant - (excluding the fuck up on 2nd attempt GMAT) from 31 - 37. All of my study material is from ManhattanGMAT.

From reading previous posts on here, I have come to the conclusion that my score has not improved because I do not understand the basic material. With that said I have read and answered questions to the problem sets of 95% of the quant books and am finishing up reading verbal books with problem sets. I also write notes and keep flashcards. I also review my notes.

I'm finding that often times I do OG questions but I cannot relate them to the material written in the book - ie: I look at the question and try to find the topic in the book. I read the topic in the book and look back at the question, and I have no idea how the question was derived. For me the questions and reading material are two very separate unrelated things. Questions either ask you something in a weird way that I don't understand or the question is super duper complicated and it is not discussed in detail in the books. I review all questions that I answer, but to me they all seem unrelated. They may share the same topic, but the procedures are different, therefore they are not related.