Advice on raising score

This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts
GMAT Score:690

Advice on raising score

by fhucrosscountry » Sun Jul 20, 2014 8:52 pm
Hi, guys!

I'm new to the site but realize there's an emphasis here on getting an MBA. I hope it's not a problem to be pursuing a M.Acc instead and still using the site.

My question, though, is pretty general in nature. I, like so many people, am simply looking to increase my score. I just took my first GMAT and got a 7 IR, 41 quant, and 38 verbal. I'm waiting on the AWA score. I studied something like three months -- although the first month was not very intense and with the Princeton Review book. I now have an old Turbocharge Your GMAT book by Manhattan as well as their FDP, Algebra, Number Properties, and Advanced Quant guides. At the end (two days before the test) my official quant review came in too. I also played around on the free trial of The Economist GMAT Tutor and now have a premium subscription to that. My background includes some math -- but nothing heavy. I would say I'm strong in FDP and arithmetic and decent in geometry. Other than that I'm not too great in my skills right now. I've taken five practice tests with the following consecutive scores: 610, 700, 640, 700, 610. I'm generally stronger in verbal than I performed on my real GMAT, having obtained a 46 or 47 on one practice test particular. I just not to get the quant up (highest practice test score of 44). The plan is to retake in about 10 or 11 weeks.

So what do you all think I should do other than The Economist program, or should I do just that? I've considered the other two Manhattan quant guides and have heard there's a really good PDF out there with every type of GMAT question possible. I thought I could maybe use the PDF to make sure that I'm well ready for anything that could come my way.