Retake with 710 (Q48, V40, IR5) ?

Find out how Beat The GMAT members tackled GMAT test prep with positive results. Get tips on GMAT test prep materials, online courses, study tips, and more.
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts

Retake with 710 (Q48, V40, IR5) ?

by batman08 » Fri Jul 11, 2014 1:08 pm
Hi all,

I finally got done with my GMAT this week. I got a 710 overall score (92 percentile) with 48 in Quant (74 percentile), 40 in Verbal (91 percentile) and 5 in IR (52 percentile). I am not terribly happy about my score due to the low percentiles in the Quant and IR sections. I am a Software Engineer and have an advanced degree in mathematics :( from a top 5 US university.

I got the same overall score in GMATPrep mocks (in the week leading up to my exam) with scores between 48-50 in Quant and 35-40 in Verbal. In my last GMATPrep mock, I got a 50 in Quant with only 3 incorrect questions. Verbal didn't go so well due to timing issue.

I found the Quant questions in the actual exam to be a bit trickier than what I had encountered during my preparation. Also, my AWA didn't go as well as I had wanted to. I was barely able to finish it before time ran out and this unsettled me a bit going into IR.

I have been studying for a long time for the test and rescheduled my appointment a couple of times in the hope of improving my score. I am wondering if this an ok score to apply to the top B schools in US or should I retake the exam ? Will the low percentiles in Quant and IR hinder my chances ? I want to apply for MBA programs this year and would ideally not like to give the exam again. Also, if I do think about applying again, can I realistically improve my score ? Please note that I have been studying for around 5 months. Would appreciate any advice.

GMAT/MBA Expert

Elite Legendary Member
Followed by:511 members
GMAT Score:800

by [email protected] » Fri Jul 11, 2014 1:32 pm
Hi batman08,