AWA - The author ... he or she? or something else?

This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts
Hey there,

so I just started practicing the AWA part. I have a very basic question but it is still important:
When writing the essay, I use to write "The author claims ... " "The author refuses to ...". But what can you write instead of "the author"? Is it possible to write "He claims / She claims?"

The gender of the author is usually not stated. I don't know if there is a general rule in written english since I'm not a native speaker.

Hence, is there a general rule? Or what do you write instead of "the author"?

Any help is greatly appreciated!

Thanks!

Master | Next Rank: 500 Posts
Followed by:7 members

by mevicks » Mon Oct 07, 2013 5:07 am
Best solution to your dilemma : Use the words The argument ...

Apart from that this image from "my screenshot collection" might be helpful :

Regards,
Vivek

Master | Next Rank: 500 Posts
Followed by:7 members
GMAT Score:540

by sahilchaudhary » Sun Oct 20, 2013 9:43 pm
You can use 'the argument' or 'the author' as you don't know whether he is a male or female.
Sahil Chaudhary
If you find this post helpful, please take a moment to click on the "Thank" icon.
https://www.sahilchaudhary007.blocked

GMAT Instructor
Followed by:512 members
GMAT Score:770

by David@VeritasPrep » Fri Oct 25, 2013 10:56 am
Just to pick up on the previous two responses: one thing that you can do is to to mention the actual source of the argument.

So in addition to "the author" and "the argument" you can definitely reference the specific source mentioned such as "the advertisement" if it is an ad or "the editorial" or the "speaker" of the "city council member" or whatever it is. Using some of the vocabulary that the argument uses and being specific as to where it came from is always a good thing!