Admitted to Haas!

Congrats! Tell us how you did it
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts
Followed by:1 members
GMAT Score:680

Admitted to Haas!

by grazie » Wed May 21, 2014 8:45 am
Hi all, I've done a few posts here before on my strategy for the GMAT and on my profile. I got a lot of great encouragement and some pretty frank advice. I'll repost the basics here in one place.

My profile is as follows:
25 y/o female, 48 months of work experience at matriculation.
Undergrad International Relations major, 3.39 GPA, Honors with Thesis & Cum Laude. My undergrad is unrated, not what you would call a public Ivy.

I'm an officer in the US Air Force. I've been responsible for managing a 70 person large crew, and helping to establish not only a new 150-person support squadron, but also a brand new flight which increased in size by 50% from the time I left.

I've been a part of the Language Enabled Airman Program for Japanese since the program started shortly before I graduated college. So I've spent 3 hours a week learning Japanese, and occasionally go on language intensive training trips.

I'm active in my squadron's booster club, and I've raised over 4000 dollars to provide for morale events for our men and women in uniform. I am the first woman in my family to go into the military, and also the first officer.

The first time I took the GMAT, I got a 600 (36Q, 35V, 6IR). After studying, I improved my score from that to a 680 (47Q, 36V, 7IR).

I also tried submitting my GRE, which was 154 Q, 162 V.

NOW, all that aside, I can start going back to when I first started looking at grad school 3 years ago. There is a lot of pressure in the military to get your masters degree ASAP, and I knew I wanted to go to a quality program. It was good motivation to look at what my options were, and to consider what I wanted.