Does every B School give more weightage to Academics..

Share tips as you apply, write essays, interview...
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts
Hi
I am a 2012 Graduate and i worked for 3 months in an MNC. Later i started my own business and m doing well in that..
I wanted to apply for good B School. But my CGPA is 6.6 out of 10.. Does it effect much..
If it is so which universities can i apply for?
I am willing to apply for 2015 fall.My GMAT score is 710..

Senior | Next Rank: 100 Posts

by Melissa@Fortuna » Wed Apr 23, 2014 10:37 am
All business schools do look at your undergrad degree but if you can nicely compensate it with a high gmat, then you might just be ok. Your gmat score is quite high which is great - congrats! But for top US tier schools, your quant and verbal percentiles should be 80-85 percentile and above.

it's difficult to say which schools you should apply to - it depends on many factors. Are you interested in US schools? European? what do you want to do post your MBA? (certain schools specialize in certain areas so you have to think about the best fit for you) Does location matter? Do you fit top 10 or top 20 b-school criteria? There are lots of factors to be discussed.

But it seems your general question was about your lowish undergrad score. As long as you've got that strong gmat and can show how you shine in a academic capacity through work (i.e. maybe you use a lot of analytical or quant skills in your every day job that you can speak to) then this should outweigh your low undergrad score.

Hope that helps.
-Melissa and the Fortuna Admissions Team

Melissa Jones | Fortuna Admissions - a dream team of former Admissions Directors from the world's top business schools

Interested in a free 30-minute admissions consultation? Sign up on our website https://www.fortunadmissions.com

GMAT/MBA Expert

Legendary Member
Followed by:52 members

by CriticalSquareMBA » Wed Apr 23, 2014 2:16 pm
Hey there,