Need Help! GMAT in less than a month

This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts

Need Help! GMAT in less than a month

by Nut_IX » Thu Mar 27, 2014 8:26 am
Hello Everybody,

Thank you for taking the time to read my post.

I am taking the GMAT on 4/18/2014, and I my target score is a 600 (Yes, I know, it is low, but it is all I need).

I have the MGMAT books (all 9) and the OG13. I am studying from every resource possible (GMAT.com, MGMAT, OG13, Veritas, etc...). With less than a month of studying, I feel as if I am making little headway and I wanted to get some advice.

I took two practice exams:

MGMAT CAT 1 (Q37:V29) 550

MGMAT CAT 2 (Q34:V18) 440

I am taking a practice test every weekend. I am studying the problems I get write/wrong to understand how to do the problem more efficiently.

I am having trouble seeing a new problem and associating it with an old, previously computed, problem.

What advice can you guys give me?

Thanks

GMAT/MBA Expert

Elite Legendary Member
Followed by:511 members
GMAT Score:800

by [email protected] » Thu Mar 27, 2014 10:19 am
Hi Nut_IX,

Your Official GMAT is 3 weeks from now; I'm curious about whether you can push it back or not. Are you on an admissions deadline?

The immediate problem that you're facing is one of familiarity - you haven't studied enough to build up the "muscle memory" to link new questions to questions that you've already successfully solved. This usually takes 3 months (or more) to accomplish.

Your Verbal score on your second CAT was considerably lower than the one on your first. What was different about that exam?

GMAT assassins aren't born, they're made,
Rich
Contact Rich at [email protected]

by Nut_IX » Thu Mar 27, 2014 10:38 am
I have to meet an admissions deadline. If I did not have the deadline, I would not be in this predicament.