My study guide - Evaluation and tips

This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts

My study guide - Evaluation and tips

by Bobo2014 » Fri Apr 04, 2014 9:42 am
Hello all,

first of all thank you very much for reading my post and helping me. Following I will describe my situation and plans. I ll try to keep it short:
So far:
I m a non-native (German). I studied for the GMAT for 4 weeks last year and then from mid February until end of March intensively. I took my first test on March 27. and scored 610.

I prepared with:
All MGMAT guides. Went through Math twice. Verbal once. Didn t find latter very good (mistake) and kind of skimmed SC (big mistake).
Magoosh (stopped after half of the questions)
OG (twice) and OG Quant (no verbal)

CATS:
- GMAC 490 15.11
- MGMAT 630 44 32 2.3.
- MGMAT 610 41 33 13.3
- MGMAT 610 38 35 19.3
- MGMAT 650 42 37 21.3
- GMAC 640 47 31 23.3
- MGMAT 650 41 37 25.3
- GMAT 610 47 27 27.3

My weaknesses:
Q: some basics but I got most, data series, number properties, Reminders, hard questions in general
V: weakest link is SC then RC, best is CR. I do not take any notes (I used the MGMAT approach in the beginning but figured it takes me too much time and doesn t help me much ->mistake), with CR I just read the text and answer the questions. i dont really look at the question type (most of the time I can figure by just reading the text or i see boldface etc..)

My goals and Studyplan:

I got a conditional offer for a Master from the LSE. I MUST get 650 by the beginning of September. I ll aim for 700+ though because I want to do an MBA in a couple of years.

My plan:
Take the GMAT around the 20th of June which is in about 10 weeks. If I get below 650 I will retake 1 month later (End of July) because I would like to do an internship in August. If I fail again I cancel the internship and do the test again..