Need advice on GMAT Test

Find out how Beat The GMAT members tackled GMAT test prep with positive results. Get tips on GMAT test prep materials, online courses, study tips, and more.
This topic has expert replies
Junior | Next Rank: 30 Posts

Need advice on GMAT Test

by beatgmatny1 » Fri Mar 28, 2014 11:10 am
Hello,

I need advice on my situation. I just took my gmat and scored 530! This was my second attempt. I have been studying for atleast 2 hrs for the past 3 months. I am very disappointed with my performance and don't really know where to start. My Quant was 41. However, my verbal score was very poor -- V22. I scored around v35-v37 in my last two practice tests. During the test, TIMING was a big issue for me in Verbal. I knew that I was rushing in the verbal section (didn't take notes on RC, skipped couple of CR). This could've resulted in my poor performance. Honestly, I've exhausted all my resources. I've done all the OG problems in OG 12 & OG 13. I took all the MGMAT tests. I even took tests from GMAT PREP EXAM 1 and 2 and the two tests from the software. I also took empower GMAT which helped me gain points on my quant section. I studies rigorously from Kaplan RC method. My last MGMAT test score w/o time constraint was 690. My last GMAT PREP test score was 670 (this was a retake). While practicing and during practice tests, I used to get most of the CR, SC, and RC right. For example, on 20 CR questions, i usually get around 16 right.

I plan to retake again later this year as this definitely doesn't reflect my true potential. My goal is to score 700. Do you have any advice on how I can plan my next phase of preparation? does it help to get a private tutor? If so, do you have any recommendations?

I sense that timing is an issue for me more than the content. Please advise.

GMAT/MBA Expert

Elite Legendary Member
Followed by:511 members
GMAT Score:800

by [email protected] » Fri Mar 28, 2014 5:34 pm
Hi beatgmatny1,