Profile Evaluation Needed!

Free advice from the world's top MBA consultants
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts

Profile Evaluation Needed!

by arushijyoti » Mon Feb 03, 2014 6:25 pm
I did my undergraduate degree in Chemical Engineering with minors in Biomedical Engineering from Canada. I have worked 2 years till date. I aim to start applying to B schools in 2014 so that I can be enrolled in a B School for the fall term of 2015. My ambition is to get admitted to top 10 Business Schools preferably Ivy League Schools. Since I am just starting off the process, I would need your thoughts and guidance so that I can get admitted to the school of my preference.

Academics
GPA of 3.5.
GMAT score of 690. I took the GMAT in June 2012 before the exam form changed to include the Integrated Reasoning portion. Is the score good enough or will I need to retake the exam? Is it a 'norm' these days to take the GMAT more than once? Also, does it matter when you take the exam with respect to when you start applying to schools?

Work experience
# of years till date: 2 years

I have 1 year of work experience in design engineering in O&G Industry. My job role is very technical by nature. I also have 1 year of rotational work experience with my current company's accelerated leadership development program for new graduates. Rotations were in in the areas of process improvement, marketing, applications support, and supply chain.
I am not in a leadership role yet where I am managing people and I have not yet been promoted. I want to transition to more of an internal consulting/strategy role within my company sometime later this year. Do you think this will be a better option, given the tradeoff that I may be starting from the start again? Also, will my technical work experience be a drawback in my application?

Volunteer work