Job switch dilemma

Share tips as you apply, write essays, interview...
This topic has expert replies
Senior | Next Rank: 100 Posts
GMAT Score:650

Job switch dilemma

by cd86 » Wed Feb 26, 2014 10:30 am
Hi all,

I am going to apply the coming year (fall 2014).

I have 4 years of experience, 2 years in a market research and consulting firm and 2 years in another firm in the corp strategy team (solid work with a lot of impact and results)

Till now I have made all my job moves strictly keeping MBA in mind, and have not made any erratic moves.However, I am currently really saturated with my current job in the corp strategy team.

One main reason thats adding to my irritation is the fact that I have been working on certain cosmetic formulations over the years and recently I could actually gather all the supplies needed to start up a small online cosmetic brand of my own.

Now I have two choices :

Option 1.Switch to a better job, probably a better brand. This would mean burning the midnight oil in the new organization, developing a good enough relationship with the new team/boss to be able to extract recommendations (all this in 6 months)

Pro : Getting rid of the frustrating current job and looking forward to something new.

Con : this would be the third organization I would be working for in the span of 5 years and Ive heard this might not reflect well during admissions.

Option 2.Starting up my cosmetic business.

Pro : I would actually be doing what I REALLY WANT in my life and not making all decisions based on MBA alone

Con : Though starting up something has been glamorized to look like bschool guys love the idea, I really doubt whether they appreciate it as much. More so, starting up a "cosmetics" company after 4 years of dabbling around in consulting, I wonder whether this looks like I lack focus.