720 (96th Percentile) - How I Beat The GMAT!

Find out how Beat The GMAT members tackled GMAT test prep with positive results. Get tips on GMAT test prep materials, online courses, study tips, and more.
This topic has expert replies

GMAT/MBA Expert

Site Admin
Followed by:994 members
Click here to see this original post at the Beat The GMAT! Blog

On Tuesday, August 16, 2005, I took the GMAT and scored a 720 (90th percentile quant/85th percentile verbal/96th percentile overall). The result was slightly lower than what I had anticipated, but I am still satisfied. I worked very hard over the last few months to obtain this score.

Background

I am a recent non-engineering graduate from a top university in the United States. I will soon be starting my first full-time job out of school at a major software company, and I plan to work for several years before applying to business schools. Since I had some leisure time between my graduation and my first day of work, I decided to take this opportunity to get the GMAT out of the way. In hindsight, I should have spent my summer drinking more and traveling around the world--oh well.

I was born and raised in the United States.

Overview of How I Studied

My first step in this process was doing a search on Amazon.com and determining which books seemed worthwhile for my preparation. After reading some reviews on Amazon as well as doing some significant Googling, I decided to buy the following texts:

- Official Guide for GMAT Review, 10th Edition
- Kaplan GMAT 2005 with CD
- Kaplan GMAT & GRE Math Workbook
- Princeton Review Cracking the GMAT 2004 (I bought this one a while ago)

As I got into my prep, I added the following:

- The Delta Course (an online math review)
- Kaplan GMAT 800