Scored 490 , Dejected . what to do now , no idea :(

This topic has expert replies
Senior | Next Rank: 100 Posts
Hi

I have got 6 years of work ex and I am a software engineer.

I took GMAT 1 week back and scored dismal 490 (AWA 4.5 , IR 4 , Q 33 /VA 25).
My target score was only (660-680) .
My studies started 1.5 years back with a score of 480 in GMAT Prep 1.
I used to study whenever I could manage some time out of my hectic working hours.
To brush up basic theory I bought OG 13 and Manhattan SC guide and collected notes and small pdf materials from my friends.
I practiced OG 13's all questions and studied only the theory part from Manhattan SC(thrice) along with other materials, then I started taking mock tests from Manhattan (scores with dates given below).
I studied Powerscore bible's notes for CR.
I used to keep marking questions in tests that I couldn't get right in first attempt to review them later and which I did seriously.

560 (Q 37/ VA 30) on 10/21/12
580 (Q 37/ VA 32) on 11/13/12
540 (Q 37/ VA 28) on 01/05/13
590 (Q 44/ VA 27) on 01/23/13
560 (Q 39/ VA 29) on 03/30/13
620 (Q 42/ VA 33) on 05/01/13

1 day before the final day I took GMAT Prep2 and scored 620 (QA 45/ VA -don't remember).

But on final day my score was so low,where did I go wrong and what should i do now to get my targeted score in next 2 months. (Now I am targeting >=680.

Please suggest.

GMAT Instructor
Followed by:512 members
GMAT Score:770

by David@VeritasPrep » Wed Sep 11, 2013 4:32 am
Something did go wrong for you. What happened during the test? Anything unusual? How did it feel as you went through each section?

I just responded to another student who scored 100 points lower than expected. See if this is useful to you. https://www.beatthegmat.com/epic-failure ... tml#692302
Veritas Prep | GMAT Instructor

Veritas Prep Reviews
Save $100 off any live Veritas Prep GMAT Course

by sohailmbaprep » Wed Sep 11, 2013 5:52 am