9 MONTHS w/ STAGNANT SCORING

This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts

9 MONTHS w/ STAGNANT SCORING

by NYARCH22 » Sat May 11, 2013 8:45 am
I am a 31 y/o licensed architect interested in pursuing an education and career in real estate finance. After studying and passing 7 license exams for state registration, I thought that the GMAT would not pose a challenge. I have learned that "passing" and "beating" are two different things.

First practice exam- GMAT Prep (Sept 2012): 590
(3) more exams roughly 1 mos. apart: 570, 590,590
Last exam-MGMAT Prep (May 2013): 600

My goal is a 700 (690-710 would make me very happy)

During the past 9 mos. I have spent 1-2 hours a night and atleast 8 hours per weekend preparing (I work on avg. 9-10hrs a day and most Saturdays). I started with the OG, worked my way through MGMAT quant books 1-5 and reviewed advanced quant (briefly). I spent the past two weeks focusing on the GMAT Prep now SC / CR sections. After each exam I go through all questions, categorize my weaknesses and spend the next few weeks tackling them..
My verbal score started with a (35) and has remained constant since Sept. I am frustrated (as you can imagine) because I have learned many new skills but can't find a way to put the information I have taught myself towards the exam. I will state the obvious, MY METHOD IS NOT WORKING!

I am asking for suggestions (besides "give up"). Were you in a similar situation? What was your technique? Could you recommend an online program that worked for you and may help me reach my goal?

I understand that many of these posts are redundant. I would appreciate any information you could provide.

GMAT Instructor
Followed by:119 members
GMAT Score:780

by Matt@VeritasPrep » Sat May 11, 2013 11:55 am
Hi Arch!