Shocker !!!

This topic has expert replies
Senior | Next Rank: 100 Posts

Shocker !!!

by champwix » Mon Apr 15, 2013 3:10 pm
I appeared for GMAT today for the third time, and I was completely bombed again. I am still in state of shock and disbelief. My today's GMAT score has certainly bombed, as I scored a paltry V19 - far below my previous attempt and practice exams. I am clueless what happened to me today.
Quant - 47 (73%ile), Verbal - 19 (17%ile), Overall - 540 (44%ile)

Previous GMAT Scores -
13 Dec'2010 - 510 (Q42 / V19) >> Overall - 510 / 37%, AWA - 4.5 (37%ile)
10 Dec'2012 - 600 (Q47 / V27) >> Overall - 600 / 62%, AWA - 6/6 (90%ile)

Here is my previous post when I started studying for Retake -
https://www.beatthegmat.com/gmat-retake-t193909.html

In the last 1-1/2 month, since I recovered my weak areas of CR and RC, I have done very well and far better than any of my previous attempts.
Below are my prac CATs since last month -
March 17 >> GMAT Prep1 >> Q49 V31 Overall = 660
March 30 >> GMAT Prep2 >> Q49 V30 Overall = 650
April 6 >> MGMAT CAT5 >> Q45 V34 Overall = 650
April 7 >> MGMAT CAT6 >> Q42 V33 Overall = 620
(Quant score suffered as I had to take a forced bio-break in middle. So, I was confident a 650 on this too)
April 12 >> GMAT Prep1 Retake >> Q49 V40 Overall = 720

A Prac CAT score of 720 two-days before real exam certainly boosted my confidence. Considering an inflation in the 720(3-4 points each section) and considering tough Quant on MGMAT, I thought I will score a minimum 680. Also, I am well aware of test skills. So, I was relaxed Saturday/Sunday and did not study at all to stay afresh on the D-Day. I reached test center 45mins early and settled well.
Even today, my AWA, IR and Quant section went very well. Even though I exceeded the 8min break before Quant, I did not panic as I was confident about the section (as we see score of Q47). On VerbaI, I thought I was getting tough questions and felt good about it.