Part Time MBA - Rank Vs Cost

Talk to current MBA students about life in MBA programs (not for app advice/discussion)
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts
GMAT Score:730

Part Time MBA - Rank Vs Cost

by readytolearn » Thu Mar 21, 2013 5:38 pm
I am a mid-level manager in the field of IT with 10+ yrs of experience and want to grow in the same field. I am little confused with school selection for my part-time MBA. Main dilemma is Rank Vs Cost. I live in Midwest and can attend some excellent schools such as Booth or Kellogg, or can also attend good schools such as Kelley or Carlson or Foster(have a job offer in Seattle).

Cost of Booth or Kellogg is twice the cost of other good schools listed. For Full-Time MBA, selection between these is no-brainer but I am not sure on return on investment for part-time MBA. Your thoughts are welcome.

Legendary Member
Followed by:85 members

by essaysnark » Fri Mar 22, 2013 8:24 am
Hey readytolearn - love that handle BTW!

A little confused about where you're at in the process - did you already get accepted to these schools? Or are you at the beginning of the process and trying to decide where to apply?

Regardless, we can offer some input on the question.

First up: "ROI" in the context of an MBA can be a very individual calculation. Each person has different priorities for what they're seeking from an MBA, and different schools may address those priorities differently.

Our reaction to what you wrote though is pretty black-and-white: If you're saying that Booth/Kellogg are the "no-brainer" choice for a F/T MBA, then why would that be any different for a P/T program?

You graduate with the same MBA from the same school. You get access to the same network of amazing alumni. The one variation is that some schools offer different recruiting resources for the F/T students vs P/T (no on-campus recruiting for part-timers at some places) - but that's it.