Profile evaluation

Free advice from the world's top MBA consultants
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts

Profile evaluation

by mainak01 » Fri Dec 21, 2012 7:58 am
Time for a career shift. I have been in the merchant navy(engineering officer) since 2007 working with a reputed company. In I had taken a break in between and joined a Tata company for about 18 months as project engineer and subsequently got a promotion as well.In my 18 months with TATA Steel I have been in very important projects in corroboration with HEC, BHEL, BORL and have got recommendations to show. However, the larger picture was to crack an IIM in this period which didnt happen. Went back to shipping and have worked 2 years since then. I graduated in BE Marine Engineering from a BITS affiliated college and acquired a CGPA of 6.2/10. In shipping, I have assisted in taking delivery of new vessels and apart from various technological advances,was part of a pirate combat. I was involved in a lot of extra curricular activities in school and in college and need to find a way of highlighting them properly. GMAT score of 670 and exclusively looking at ISB (2014). Kindly evaluate my chances.
Thanks
Mainak

Senior | Next Rank: 100 Posts
Followed by:3 members

by Yashveer » Fri Dec 21, 2012 10:34 pm
Hi Mainak,

Well with the kind of exposure & diversity in your profile you must target ISB for 2014 intake. Having said that, the most crucial part in any b-school application are the essays & interviews. It is through these factors the b-school(s) ADCOM would judge a candidate. So, you need to position yourself well in your essays/interviews to convert your chances to admission. You can also try your chances in b-schools by clicking https://www.general-ed.com/chances-of-bschool