Profile evaluation?

Free advice from the world's top MBA consultants
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts

Profile evaluation?

by vespertine » Sun Jun 29, 2008 4:46 pm
Hello,

I am looking for a little bit of insight into the b-school application process. My profile is as follows (and advance apologies for the verbosity):

- 25 year old queer female of Indian origin in Sydney; Australian citizen; fluent in Hindi and French.

- 2 years work experience at present, will be nearly 3 years by Sept 2009. I currently work as an advertising executive at a film exhibitor cinema chain (and have one year of prior work experience in client service at an ad agency that is part of a worldwide marketing communications network). Duties include planning media schedules for campaigns, giving creative direction for press and radio ads, some copywriting, managing budgets and accruals, participating in negotiating contracts with press/radio/TV ... fairly operational stuff.

- I have lived and been schooled in Egypt, Australia and India. Economics and French double major from a reputed Australian university. While studying, I reported for then edited the university newspaper, was elected as media officer for student government, was published regularly in creative writing journals, and tutored children from refugee communities. I currently serve as Youth Embassador on the board of the Ethnic Communities Council of New South Wales.

- No less than 6 fails over 3 years on undergraduate record have contributed to an awful GPA. I have everything from fails to high distinctions on my academic transcript (there is an explanation but I'd rather not focus on it).

- Have got my act together in recent years re: focus and discipline. I am terribly passionate about wanting to start a magazine for young women in India within the next five years, to deliver socially conscious, engaging, fun, independent, thought provoking perspectives.